

Resolution of Council

9 March 2020

Item 12.14

Priority Access for Locals to City of Sydney Sporting Facilities

Moved by Councillor Phelps, seconded by Councillor Chung –

It is resolved that:

- (A) Council note:
 - (i) councils across Sydney have policies which grant priority of access to sporting facilities for local residents and organisations:
 - (ii) the City of Sydney does not currently have a sports field allocation or similar policy;
 - (iii) the provision of new indoor sports courts and associated amenities on the proposed Wattle Street site will be of little or no benefit to the local community without the adoption by Council of a policy granting priority of access to such facilities to schools, sports teams, clubs and associations which are located in the Local Government Area; and
 - (iv) the City's current centres are struggling to accommodate the growing demand for sporting facilities in the Local Government Area. For example, bookings for spaces in the courts at King George V fill up almost as soon as they open for the year ahead, on a 'first come, first served' basis; and
 - (v) the City is planning for 56,000 new dwellings by 2036, which will increase the pressure on our already strained ability to provide adequate sporting facilities to our constituents;
- (B) the Chief Executive Officer be requested to:
 - (i) draft a sports field management and use policy to grant priority of access to Cityrun facilities to local schools, sports teams, clubs and associations located in the Local Government Area which includes:

- (a) priority of access;
- (b) policy relating to sporting clubs and schools;
- (c) policy scope; and
- (d) seasonal hire dates and approval conditions;
- (ii) investigate additional measures the City can undertake to promote the development of local sports organisations; and
- (iii) update the City of Sydney website and other online channels to reflect this new policy.

The motion was lost on the following show of hands -

- Ayes (1) Councillor Phelps
- Noes (8) The Chair (the Deputy Lord Mayor), Councillors Chung, Forster, Kok, Miller, Scott, Scully, Thalis and Vithoulkas.

Motion lost.

S129263